Chocolate Covered Shortbread Bars

Standard

I enjoy a good cookie, however I prefer not to make them. Somehow I always seem to over bake at least 1 batch. Give me a bar cookie any day and somehow it comes out perfectly. The added benefit is they take less time to throw together. These are a light shortbread cookie with chocolate on top and a breeze to make.

INGREDIENTS
1 1/2 c softened Butter
1 1/2 c Brown Sugar
2 Eggs
2 tsp Vanilla
3 c Flour
1/2 tsp Salt
1 1/2 to 2 cups of chopped Chocolate
1/2 c Nuts or Toffee bits (optional)

Cream butter and sugar till fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time. Add the vanilla. Combine the flour and salt. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the creamed mixture.

Grease and flour a 10×15 inch pan. Spread the dough on the cookie sheet as evenly as possible. I find it is easiest to use my fingers and then smooth it with an offset spatula. Use a fork to pierce the dough periodically. This prevents it from puffing up as it bakes. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, until the dough is golden brown.

While it is still hot, sprinkle the chocolate on top of the cookies. As it begins to melt, spread it over the entire pan. If you are using chocolate chips, they are designed to hold their shape and will take a little more work to spread around. I prefer milk chocolate but you really can use whichever type you like the best. If you want nuts or toffee on top, sprinkle it now while the chocolate is still warm. I have used almonds, walnuts as well as pecans. It just depends on the mood you are in. Candied nuts really put these bar cookies over the top.

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

