Girl Scout Investiture

Standard

Ceremonies are a tradition in Girl scouts, and the girls love to put them together. The problem is making it unique each time. Investiture is when we welcome new members into Girl Scouts and it is important to make it different each year. Below are some ideas you could incorporate this year. To stay organized and make sure we don’t forget anything, we use a ceremonies worksheet when planning all our ceremonies.

Adult Investiture

A LEAADER’S PROMISE

ADULT LEADERSHIP IN SCOUTING

THIS DOOR – ADULT

PATCHWORK – ADULT

ADULT INVESTITURE AND REDEDICATION

DAISY INVESTITURE

BROWNIE INVESTITURE

A BROOWNIE PLAYLET

CANDLE INVESTITURE

INVESTITURE FOR JUNIORS, CADETTES, SENIORS AND AMBASSADORS

A REDEDICATION CEREMONY

INVESTITURE POEMM

A Juliette Low candle is one with a long history. In the early days of the organization Juliette passed on a flame to girls who were moving on from their Troop. The tradition has continued and one candle has lit other so that they all pass on that original flame. Once you are given such a candle, you can use of the ceremonies below to pass it onto the girls in your Troop. My girls were in awe that they have a piece of history.

JULIETTE LOW CANDLE CEREMONY #1

JULIETTE CANDLE CEREMONY #2

JULIETTE CANDLE CEREMONY #3

JULIETTE CANDLE CEREMONY #4

JULIETTE CANDLE WITH CAKE

I keep a container ready that has everything we need to hold a candle ceremony.

This is a file bin but is the perfect size and has a handle.

All the candles I keep wrapped in tissue paper. Spool of ribbon, matches, small lighter and a long lighter. Not pictured is a snuffer, I don’t like the girls blowing on the flames. Also I have taper candles I need to replace, I gave them all away as Juliette candles.

Next to the bin is where I keep the flags and our green tablecloth. Since I use those items for a variety of things I don’t keep the table-cloth in the bin. All my copies of ceremonies I keep in a 1 inch binder that I can take to meetings so the girls can choose which they want to do.

We will have ours next month. I like to do it in October as it gives the Troop a chance to get all the new girls time to learn the basics. Let me know if you have any questions and i would love to see pictures of your investitures this year!

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Troop Handbook « keepingiteasyandsimple

  2. Pingback: DAISY GIRL SCOUT: PROMISE CENTER « keepingiteasyandsimple

  3. Pingback: CEREMONY BASICS « keepingiteasyandsimple

  4. Pingback: CEREMONY BASICS « keepingiteasyandsimple

  5. Pingback: GIRL SCOUT WAYS BADGE « keepingiteasyandsimple

Leave a Reply

