Clearance items

Standard

Food clearance item. Often when people hear those 3 words they believe the food is inedible. Those people miss out on a lot of great deals! For example, this week at Safeway I walked by the clearance rack to see what was available. There were 2 packs of pop taped together because they had been ripped. They were not out of date and the cans were not dented. After the sale price and the 50% clearance markdown, I picked them up for $1.25 each.

Some items are marked down because the store has so much of a given product they are worried it will have to be tossed on the Sell By Date. Recently I found over 20 half gallon containers of orange juice on clearance. I picked up a dozen for about $1 each and they went right into my deep freeze where they will be fine for months. Another trick I do with clearance juices is to use them for lunch. I save water bottles and pour enough juice into it for my daughter’s lunch and then freeze them. When one of the girls packs a lunch they can grab a bottle out of the freezer. It will act as an ice pack and be thawed by the time they eat.

One last tip, if you have a coupon you can use it on an item already marked for clearance. Sometimes between the 2 markdowns you get an item totally for free.

I hope this has opened your eyes to those 2 dirty words and inspired you to take a second glace at those clearance items and see an easy and simple way to make your dollars stretch.

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Coupon Lingo « keepingiteasyandsimple

Leave a Reply

