Rain Check

Standard

It can be very frustrating to arrive at the store excited about an item on sale to discover it is sold out. Some items are limited to what is on hand, while others the store is willing to extend the sale till stock is replaced. Those stores that are limited to quantity on hand, may still be willing to give you that sale price on another item so don’t be afraid to speak with customer service. The worst they can do is say no. This is a great way to get an even better deal at your department store.

At your local grocery store however, they will often give you  a Rain Check. This week Safeway has Chex cereal advertised for $1.99 a box, but you must buy at least 3 to get that price. When I got there Rice Chex was the only flavor left. I picked up several boxes but had wanted more in other flavors. I went to the customer service desk for my Rain Check  but I could also have asked at the register. I stated what item was out of stock, showed her the advertised price, and she wrote out my rain check. I now have 90 days to use that Rain Check before it will expire. Not all stores allow so long so always make sure you read the dates on your Rain Check. Sometimes the ad will state a maximum number that you can purchase, but not in this case. I still had to provide one so I gave customer service a high (yet reasonable) number of 12 boxes. The Rain Check will go in my coupon binder along with my coupons for $1 off 2 boxes of Chex cereal. This way I do not lose the Rain Check or forget that I had coupons to go with it.

It is really easy to redeem your Rain Check. I had one for a bag of baby carrots for .99 cents with a limit of 2 bags. Before the cashier scanned them I let her know about the Rain Check so she could adjust the price easier. If you wait till the end when you typically hand over your coupons, they have to go back into the scree to find the item and change the price. It saves you a little time and makes it easier on the cashiers.

I hope this has shown you how easy and simple it is to speak up when you see an item is out of stock.

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

