Your Chocolate is in my Peanut Butter Pie

Standard

This is how I get my nephew to come over to my house. I text him that I have a pie in the freezer and he cannot resist. Here is the list of ingredients, most of which you probably keep stocked in your pantry.

Ingredients

1 cup cold milk
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 package (3.4 oz) instant chocolate pudding

8 oz whipped cream
1 ready made cookie crust
Mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

For 1 pie I use half a bag of mini peanut butter cups, so either make 2 pies or try to hide the remaining peanut butter cups from your husband so he does not eat them. Place your peanut butter cups into the freezer, this makes them much easier to cut without smooshing them. Once frozen, unwrap the peanut butter cups but leave them in the brown paper. I slice them into quarters and then when I am ready to use them they slip right out. While you make the rest of the filling, place the pieces back into the freezer. Just ignore the one with a missing piece, a cook has to taste test everything, right?

Cutting the peanut butter cups

Mix the peanut butter and milk together as best you can. It won’t be really smooth but it does make added the pudding easier. Once you have added the pudding it will look like this, so do not panic.

Pudding Mix

Begin folding in your whipped cream just as you would whipped egg whites. Start with about 20% to lighten up the pudding mix. Add the remaining whipped cream by thirds, folding it in with a  spatula till there are no more white streaks. Add in the chopped peanut butter cups and fold in. Pour the filling into your pie crust. I prefer a chocolate cookie crust but vanilla works too.

Finished Pie

The pie needs to freeze for at least a couple hours but I often do it the day before I plan to serve it. If doing it the day before, once the pie has frozen place serane wrap on the top to prevent ice crystals from forming on the pie.  When you are ready to serve it needs to thaw about 10 minutes to soften enough to slice, it will depend on how long it has been in the freezer. I do slice the entire pie that way if there are leftovers, they are easy to sneak after the family has gone to bed. Since there is no such thing as too much chocolate, rve with hot fudge or caramel drizzled on each slice. For some extra crunch, sprinkle chopped peanuts on top.

An easy and simple pie your family will love, enjoy!!!

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

