Christmas Gift Bags

Standard
Christmas Gift Bags

Last week my daughter and I attended the church Christmas party for the kids. One of the crafts they made was the snowman bag pictured below. I thought it was so cute and so very easy that it inspired me for a few other subjects.

SNOWMAN BAG

SNOWMAN

To make this gift bag you need the following items. Bear in mind that these are very forgiving crafts and you can substitute based on what you already have on hand. For all the bags i designed, I had everything on hand except for the gift bags and i found those at the local Dollar Store.

White gift bag

Craft glue (glue sticks will not work on heavy items)

Black craft foam

Orange craft foam

Red ink pad

Foam paint brush

Black satin ribbon

Black tulle

Simply cut our round shapes for the coal mouth and eyes, Use the orange to create the carrot nose. The ribbon and a small piece of tulle work as the hat. The rosy cheeks are a result of rubbing the foam brush onto the ink pad and then applying it in a circular motion onto the bag.

SANTA BAG

SANTA

Here is what you will need to make Santa. Again,you can substitute items such as real buttons, fur or ribbon as you dig through your own craft supplies.

Red gift bag

Black felt

White felt

Cardboard

Cut a long strip of the back to glue on as the belt. I suggest cutting a piece of paper as a template first so you can decide how wide you want it to be. Depending on the size of the bag you are using you will want to make it thinner or wider. The buckle is made from cutting a square within a square. I applied the buckle to a piece of cardboard so that it would stand out a bit more. I cut round buttons from the white felt.

RUDOLPH BAG

RUDOLPH

For this brave reindeer you will need the following supplies.

Brown gift bag

Eyes

Red pom pom

Green felt

Red jingle bells

Thread

Craft glue

Brown felt

Brown pipe cleaners

I began by wrapping the pipe cleaners around the handle of the bag. For each antler I used a whole one, and one cut in thirds. I wrapped the original pipe cleaner around the 3 pieces to hold them on and then fluffed them out to look like antlers. Be sure to tuck the ends in so they do not poke anyone.

I originally wanted to use large wiggle eyes but could not find them so I printed off a couple. Guess what I found when I was putting everything back away? They did not look quite right on their own so I added some brown felt to serve as eyelids. The nose was the red pompom. I tried and tried to make a snout look like it belonged to a deer, but it just kept looking like a dog.  I think next time I will make the pom pom twice as big and maybe that will balance it out better.

The collar was a piece of felt I cut into a strip and then hand sewed some jingle bells on. I like the idea of making it sound like he was hooked up to the sled. But you could easily skip the real bells and just glue on dots to represent them. Or skip the bells and just write the deer’s name on the collar. In my mind I could see 9 bags lined up under the tree with each of Santa’s reindeer name written on the collar. Behind them all you could put the Santa bag from above.

ELF BAG

Because I believe in learning from your mistakes, let me show you mine. What do you think of my elf? I think it looks more like the Grinch.

ELF

There are many things I do not like about this bag. I don’t think the shiny surface was the right fit. I had intended to use some white faux fur but when I pulled it out, it was tan. So I substituted batting. Maybe it would have looked better on a different bag, but I think it looked cheesy on this one. I also think I placed the fur too high, and the collar pieces were too small. The one thing I did like were the jingle bells I slipped onto the ribbon handle.

I ended up going to Wal Mart this week and found some white fur in the fabric section. It already comes in strips and is only .99 cents a yard. As you can see from the photo below that i took on the back side of the bag above, it looks so much better.

What I should have done ELF bag

When you fill your bags you can keep to the theme with matching tissue paper. I like the idea of black with the snowman, red with Santa and Rudolph and green or white with the elf.

I hope I have inspired you to create some of your own gift bags. Or make it a project the kids can do with you. Trace and cut our their hands for the antlers, use construction paper for all the pieces. Just have fun and make some easy and simple gift bags that add a little extra touch to your gifts this year. Merry Christmas!!!

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

