Wooden Nativity

Standard

I love nativity sets and when I saw this idea online I knew my youngest and I could pull it off. I had only seen a photo so I had to figure out a way to make it work.

Wooden Nativity Set

SUPPLIES:
Computer
2×4 board
Sandpaper
Glue
Felt of various colors

I once again went to my friend Google and found clip art that were simple nativity shapes. I stretched as needed till they were of a consistent size and printed off my patterns.

I trimmed them and laid them on the 2×4 to determine the size each block needed to be. As you will see from the photos below, they ended up being various sizes. I had the hubby use his circular saw to cut them for me. Boo used a sand block to smooth down all the edges so that there would be no splinters. We considered staining the wood and thought it would look nice, but I was not sure how well the glue would adhere to the stain itself. So we left them looking natural.

After pinning the patterns to felt, I cut out the shapes for each block. If a person had several pieces, I cut out the main shape first and then laid the pattern on the next color and cut out the smaller details.

We used craft glue to attach the felt in layers. because we had cut the entire silhouette out in the base color, it allowed the small detail pieces to pop out a bit more.

The Star

Camel

Wisemen

Sheep

Shepherd #1

Manger

Mary and Joseph

Donkey

This craft took a few hours, but it really was pretty simple. The cutting took up the most time. Let me know if you give this nativity set a try!

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

