Goodbye

Standard

Some things in life will just never be easy or simple, they just plain suck. Today was one of those days for me and my family. My son’s dog passed away suddenly and it just breaks my heart. I had to call my husband at work so he could come help. I picked Boo up at school to tell her, and tried to console the daughter that was home sick. The worst of all was having to call The Boy  in another state and inform him his dog for the last 11 years was gone. The one thing I could tell all of them is that she was not alone when she passed.

Frankie came into our life in a round about way, she was the runt of the litter and had gotten bit by another pup. The resulting infection required a shaved head and made her look like……. Frankenstein, hence the name. We brought her into the house till she was healthy, and as any parent knows, once the animal comes into the house it is a pet and there is no getting out of it. Boo was only a few months old at the time so Frankie always had a hard time viewing her as anything but a subordinate. The last few months they have been truly bonding and Boo could even walk her off leash!

She had more patience than me many times. Frankie loved to let  the kids use her as a pillow. She protected The Boy from dogs that tried to attack him on a walk. When Boo was just starting to toddle around, Frankie made sure she never got close to the street. Always a good source of entertainment would be to watch her chase her tail, and once she got it, plopping down with a satisfied “humph”.  Frankie loved to run in the creek but acted like you were torturing her if you tried to put her in the tub.

She was the typical family dog. Yet she taught my children life lessons that I pray they will take with them the rest of their lives. Frankie showed them unconditional love, that even if you feel stepped on (and with 3 kids she did indeed get stepped on far too often) you don’t need to hold a grudge. Compassion for those who are smaller or dependent on the kindness of others. She showed them how being open and wagging your tail creates opportunities to meet your neighbors. That friendship means sometimes doing things you don’t want to do (like poop patrol) or going outside when it is cold because your canine housemate won’t pee without you. Frankie demonstrated how just being there for someone who is hurting can be the one thing they need. That the lives of others depend on meeting your responsibilities on a daily basis. She lived the idea that obedience is a sign of love. Snow is meant to be rolled in, ;eaves should be chased and walks are to be enjoyed.  Oh yes, she taught my children (and me) some of the most important lessons that people need to learn. And I thank God for bringing her into our lives.

Frankie 2001 - 2012

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

2 responses »

  1. I am so sorry. Losing a beloved furbaby is never easy, and no words can ease your aching heart right now. Truly some of God’s greatest gifts and lessons are given to us thru His giving us pets. I know that your Frankie was loved and will be missed and remembered forever.

Leave a Reply

