Chedder Dumplings with Tomatoes

Standard
Chedder Dumplings with Tomatoes

I was shocked when I made dumplings for the first time and found out my husband had never had one before. To me, it was something that my mother always made with stew, and with 4 kids, she never made enough. Hubby thought the idea of a steamed biscuit was unappetizing but I soon won him over. When I finally got him to a point where he liked tomatoes I tried these cheddar dumplings and he was hooked. Now when he sees them he gets that gleam in his eyes that I love to see. If you don’t think you can make a biscuit, I promise you CAN make a dumpling.

INGREDIENTS:
2 cans Diced Stewed Italian Tomatoes
1/2 c Tomato Juice or water
1/2 Tb Minced Garlic
2c Flour
4 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 c Shortening chilled
1tsp salt
1 1/2 c Shredded Cheddar Cheese
1 c Milk/Buttermilk

Time: Prep 5 to 10 minutes Cook 25 minutes

In a hot skillet combine the stewed tomatoes (this includes all the liquid in the can), tomato juice and garlic. Bring it to a simmer and give it a taste. Depending on the brand you purchase you may want to season with a little salt.

In a bowl combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Cut in the shortening and add the cheese. Make a well in the center of the bowl and add the milk. You can substitute buttermilk if you like a little tang in your biscuit. Mix it well and it will look VERY sticky. Don’t worry, that is what a dumpling is supposed to look like.

Drop the dough by spoonfuls into the simmering tomatoes. Each drop should be about 2 or 3 tablespoons worth. It is okay if they are touching in the pan, but spread them out the best you can.

Sticky Dumplings

Cover and simmer for 20 minutes. No matter how good it smells do not open that lid, the steam is what cooks the dumplings. At 20 minutes insert a toothpick in the center of a dumpling and see if it comes out clean. If it has dough sticking to it, replace the lid for another 5 minutes. When the toothpick does come out clean, remove the lid and continue simmering for 5 more minutes.

Fluffy pillows of bread

They are so easy to serve.

They go well with say meatloaf, and you can pour the extra tomatoes on top.

I hope you give them a try!

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

