Fruit Smoothies

Standard
Fruit Smoothies

I enjoy a good fruit smoothie, just not the price. I even checked out the ones available in the freezer section and while better, I just was not going to pay that much. So I came up with my own.
I buy yogurt when they are marked 50% off and stick them in the freezer. This makes it easy on me and when we pull one out we know exactly what flavor it is.

INGREDIENTS:
1 container of frozen yogurt
Frozen Fruit
Juice or milk

By washing and allowing fruit to dry, I can spread them on a cookie sheet and pop the pan into the freezer. The fruit freezes individually so I can pull out the amount I need later. If you have bananas nobody is eating, slice them up and freeze them instead of tossing them into the trash. By having each fruit in its own bag I can grab whatever combination we are in the mood for.

Pull out your blender and dump in the frozen yogurt. If it does not want to come out, run it under hot water for a few seconds to loosen it. Measure that container full of the fruit you want and pour it in the blender as well. Measure half of the container for the liquid you want. You can use juice or milk, this is what thins the smoothie out. Half a container will give a fairly thick smoothie. If you want it thinner, just add a little more liquid.

In this case I used a strawberry yogurt, frozen strawberries and orange juice.

This one taste more like an Orange Julius. By using vanilla yogurt the orange juice really stands out and the strawberries have a more subtle flavor.

How about a tropical flavored treat?

Vanilla yogurt, Juice Blend and Bananas

Slice the bananas and freeze before using. Save a couple for decorating the glass if you want to get a little fancy.

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Homemade Frappuccino « keepingiteasyandsimple

  2. Pingback: Smoothie Pops « keepingiteasyandsimple

Leave a Reply

