Homemade Frappuccino

Standard
Homemade Frappuccino

I don’t frequent the office (aka Starbucks) as often as some people I know, but I am there enough to have a Gold Card. I pretty much order the same 4 drinks and in the summer, it is a frappuccino. While I was making a fruit smoothie one morning, I knew I really wanted something with coffee but did not have the time to stop before work. I decided to learn how to make my own. While it is not an exact copy, I know that this version is a bit healthier. Also, because this has more to do with ratios, you can adjust according to the size of yogurt that you purchase.

INGREDIENTS:
2 parts Frozen Cubes of Coffee
2 parts Frozen Vanilla or Plain Yogurt
Flavored Coffee Creamer
1 part Milk

To make the coffee cubes, brew an extra strong pot of coffee. Espresso is even better. Allow it to cool and then pour into ice-cube trays and freeze. Store in ziplock bags.

As with my fruit smoothies, I freeze yogurt in the container that it comes in. It is easier on me and I can keep the yogurt flavors separate. If the frozen yogurt won’t come out of the container when you are ready to use it, run it under hot water for a few seconds to loosen it up. Plop it into the blender. Fill the empty yogurt cup with coffee cubes and put them in as well.

The particular brand of creamer pictured above has a very strong flavor. Based on the brand you buy, vary the amount used to make your frappuccino. For the 8 oz yogurt cup I use 2 Tbs of creamer, adjust according to the size you use. I use creamer because I already have it on hand for my husband’s coffee. If you prefer, use only milk and a flavored syrup such as one from Torani. Fill the yogurt cup halfway with milk.

Pour the creamer into the blender and let it go. If it seems that the yogurt and cubes won’t break down, add more milk a little bit at a time.

Vanilla Caramel Frappuccino

If you prefer a mocha flavor, skip the creamer and just use the milk. Add the chocolate syrup as you whip the frapp in the blender. I hope you enjoy this simple and easy version of a frappuccino. What flavors can you come up with?

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Smoothie Pops « keepingiteasyandsimple

Leave a Reply

