Chicken Pot Pie

Standard

As far back as the 16h century, recipes for pot pies have abounded in cookbooks. The basic idea is simple, mix meat and veggies with some gravy, cover with a crust and bake. This recipe covers the very basics of the dish and allows the individual cook to tailor it to their own tastes and what is around the kitchen.

INGREDIENTS:
3 c Cooked Chicken
3 c Cooked and diced potatoes
1/2 – 2 c vegetable
1 box Pie Pastry Dough

1 1/2 c heavy cream
2 Tb Flour
1 1/2 tsp Paprika
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp pepper
3/4 c Low Sodium Chicken or Vegetable Broth

If I know I am going to make potato salad or pot pie for dinner this week, I bake extra potatoes a day or 2 before hand. They peel very easy and won’t get soggy. I store in a ziplock bag and then cut up when I am ready to use them.

Layer the chicken and potatoes into a 2 quart dish. Top with your vegetable of choice. I use button mushrooms, shitake mushrooms, peas, asparagus or even corn. Whatever I have leftover in the fridge or as a small bag in the freezer. If using mushrooms, saute in butter first. All vegetable should be cooked before adding, raw vegetables will not cook in the time the pot pie is in the oven. Vegetables that are diced and frozen have been blanched and will do well, ones that are already extremely soft could turn to mush. The variance in measurement comes from the size of the veggies you are going to use. Corn versus asparagus for example, will not fill the measuring cup in the same way.

To make the gravy, add cream, flour, paprika, salt and pepper to a small sauce pot and heat over medium heat. It will take about 5 minutes to begin thickening and you need to whisk the entire time. Whisk in the broth. I usually buy low sodium because I want to control the amount in my dish.

Pour the gravy over the other ingredients. If you would prefer a pot pie with more gravy than you see below, go ahead and double the recipe.

Cover the dish with pie pastry, sealing the edges. I have found that for a pot pie, a premade crust works well. In this case I only needed 1 from the box so the other goes into the freezer for future use. For an actual pie I prefer to make my own from scratch but in this form there is little difference and the ease of store bought is worth it. Beat 1 egg and a tsp of warm water till frothy. Brush over the entire pastry, including the edges. This helps it become a nice golden brown.

Egg Wash

All brushed and ready to bake

Place on the middle rack of the oven set at 400 degrees. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, then remove and place on a cooling rack 5 to 10 minutes.

It is ready to eat!

Cut with a pie server or sharp knife

Serve on a plate or in a bowl.

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

2 responses »

  1. yummm – love pot pies.

    Would love to e-mail you back with the knot tote info, but you seem to have your e-mail notification turned off on your comments – and I couldn’t find your contact info on your site.

    Please e-mail with an e-mail address, and I can send it to you.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

