Juicy Pork Chops

Standard

I grew up believing that pork chops were supposed to be a dry piece of meat. They did not taste bad, they just were not very juicy when my mother cooked them. I know the rage right now is to brine them, but the one time I tried it, I am not so sure it really made a difference. One day I watched a chef cook steaks in the oven. I thought, why can’t I do that with pork chops as well?

INGREDIENTS:
Pork Chops (I think bone in are better for this preparation)
Salt & Pepper or favorite steak seasoning
2 Tb Oil

TOOLS:
You need a pan that can go from the burner to the oven. For me, I use an old fashioned cast iron skillet. I purchased mine at Wal Mart at a much lower price than the local outdoor store.

Place the pork chops on the counter 30 minutes before you intend to cook them. Taking the chill off helps to get a nice crust on the chops and that is pure flavor.

Heat the skillet on medium high heat. When it seems to be nice and hot, add 2 Tb of oil. When the oil becomes shiny it is hot enough to start cooking. Lay the chops in the skillet and cover with a splatter screen. In 3 to 5 minutes they will be ready to turn. The first sign is that you will start to smell the pork. The second sign is that they won’t be sticking to the skillet. I should have let these go a little longer.

If they are really sticking then they can go a little longer. After you flip them, place the whole pan into the oven. By baking in the oven they will receive and even heat and keep from drying out. At 350 degrees these took about 20 minutes. Thicker chops will take longer. If you are cooking too many for 1 pan, use a baking sheet. It needs to be getting hot in the oven while the chops are browning on both sides on the stove.

Serve with your favorite side dish such as macaroni and cheese, stuffing or twice baked potato.

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

