Garlic Pot Roast

Standard

When I had The Boy over 20 years ago, I came home from the hospital exhausted. Being our first child, The Man waited on me hand and foot. It was so nice to just be able to relax and try to get to know the newest member of the family. My husband made dinner for me and when he told me what he was making I was very nervous as I had never seen him cook more than eggs before. To be honest I was expecting to have to order pizza for dinner. But it turned out great!

INGREDIENTS:
3 lb Pot Roast
15 Cloves of Garlic
1 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Pepper
1 c Beef Broth

Pay your roast on the cutting board and pat it dry with paper towels. Using a paring knife. make slits in the meat every couple of inches. The need to be deep enough to go halfway down into the roast and long enough to hold your largest garlic clove. Once the paring knife has cut a slit, wiggle it around just a tiny bit to make a pocket. Set the roast to the side.

Lay the garlic on the cutting board and with a knife or scraper, push down on the garlic so they pop open. If using a smaller roast, reduce the garlic cloves accordingly.

The idea is to open them up so they can release more flavor into the meat, but you don’t want them mashed or chopped.

Now stuff those garlic cloves into the pockets you made in the roast. You do not want them sticking out or they will come out during the cooking process. Get them in as far as you can. Season the roast with salt and pepper or your favorite steak seasoning. Over medium high heat, brown all sides of the roast. Not only will this add depth of flavor, it helps to keep those garlic cloves in their pockets. Place the roast in your slow cooker . Pour in broth and cover. Cook on low for 8 hours. Water can be substituted for the broth, the jus won’t be as rich in flavor. If cooking in the oven, triple the amount of liquid.

When the roast is done, remove and set to the side covered. I place it in a warm oven as well, while I work on the jus. Pour the liquid in a small pot on the stove and bring to a low boil. Allow it to simmer until it reduces to the thickness you prefer. This will take 5 to 10 minutes. If you baked the roast in the oven, place the roasting pan on the stove top and scrap all the bits off the bottom as you reduce the sauce. The French call this fond and it has lots of flavor.

Serve the roast with the jus on the side. I hope you give this a try, I think you will really enjoy the flavor. As always, let me know if you have any questions.

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

