Roasted Cauliflower

Standard

I love cauliflower, and roasting makes just about anything taste better, right? Part of what I like about this recipe is that I can adapt it to go well with whatever the main dish happens to be.

INGREDIENTS:
1 head of Cauliflower
2 Tbs Oil
1 tsp Salt
1/8 tsp Pepper
1/2 Tbs Seasonings (see below)

Wash the cauliflower and remove the core. Try to break up the head rather than cutting with a knife. The more you cut through the florets, the more crumbles you end up with. When you do need to use a knife, cut along the stalks only. It takes a little more time but produces better results.

In a bowl combine the oil, salt and pepper. Now is when you get to be creative. Add some herbs or spices that compliment your main dish, up to 1/2 Tbs.

For example, with my chicken yakotori I add minced garlic and ginger.
With spaghetti I would add minced garlic and fresh basil leaves.
With roasted chicken I break up fresh rosemary.
Adding a little bit of what is in the main dish brings them together.

Place the cauliflower on a baking sheet and toss with the oil marinade. Make sure all pieces are coated in the oil. Place in a preheated, 350 degree oven for 25 minutes. Halfway through give the pan a good shake to stir up the vegetable.

What combinations can you come up with?

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

