Getting activities organized – Milk Crates

Standard

I am involved in several things with my kids and church. However the thing I have the most responsibility for is a Girl Scout Troop. All the papers and information can begin to take over if one is not careful. Milk crates are cheap and can hold a lot of items in a portable container.

I have 1 crate that holds all the inserts for badges girls can earn. Each hanging folder is a general subject where I place any information that can help with those badges. I keep contact information, snack ideas, games, crafts,brochures and the badges themselves in the correct folder. If I find something that fits a topic, it is easily slipped into the hanging file. While mine are related to Girl Scouts, the same idea can be used for anything.

CRATE #1
Each tab is a subject. Some hanging folders have files within them to separate the information. I include newspaper articles, information found online, resources from agencies as well as non profits, Boys Life and even National Geographic. Organizing them here means I don’t forget I have them and I keep a huge mess from forming.

Tabs: Animals, Art, Birds, Citizenship, Conservation, Cookies, Crafts, Emergency, Fashion, First Aid, Food, Girl Scouts, Health/Nutrition, Hike/Camp, Invent/Design, Mae Own, Money, Performances, Photo, Plants, Service, Science, Self Improvement and Sports

Badges

CRATE #2
Each tab is for a different Journey as well as Girl Scout traditions that apply to all levels. Because the Journey books are thin, they fit into the hanging folders quite easily. It is also a great place to keep magazines that I only use when dealing with the specific subject. If I don’t want the entire magazine I can staple the article together.

Tabs: Bridging, Thinking Day, TAP info, WOW, Quest/Teamwork, Get Moving/Energy, aMaze/Relationships, Sow What/Gardening, Fishing, Scrapbooking, Transportation, Holidays/Seasonal.

Journeys & Other Basics

CRATE #3
This is my Daisy level crate because they earn awards differently. Each hanging folder is assigned to a Petal where I keep the papers specific to them. One of the things I keep is picture books for each Petal. This crate has extra room so I keep specific items behind the files that relate to this level only.

Tabs: Petals/Uniform, Cookies/$, Crafts, Awards, Center, Each Petal has own file, Garden Journey, 3 Cheers

Daisy level

Take a peek inside the hanging folders. None of them are the exact same, they hold things I have found here and there related to the topic.

Plants

Workbook I found online, info from local noxious weed control board, poster, gardening tips, badge inserts

Money

Info from Modern Woodsmen, Consumer handbook, toy money, bank statement, local contact information

Conservation

Brochures, booklets, Boys Life

Honest and Fair

Story book, coloring page, ideas found online, Journey plan. Everything relates to the subject of the Petal.

I can add and remove items as needed or just grab a single file and go. I hope this helps you organize your life a little better. What will your milk crate be about?

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: PICTURE BOOKS FOR DAISY PETALS « keepingiteasyandsimple

  2. Pingback: Girl Scout Leader Binder « keepingiteasyandsimple

  3. Pingback: DAISY GIRL SCOUT: PROMISE CENTER « keepingiteasyandsimple

Leave a Reply

