Why request samples?

Standard

I request samples for 1 reason, to save me money. I do not use them instead of buying products, I do it so I know what products TO purchase.

I hate wasting money, it is like working for free or throwing money in the garbage can. How many times have you bought something only to find out you did not like the taste or the quality of the item just did not work as promised? Far too many I bet! I began requesting samples when I was pregnant with Boo. My skin was so dry and I had probably $60 worth of lotions and creams that had been used for a week sitting around my bathroom with no success. I turned to the internet to see what else was out there.

That is when I discovered you can request samples from companies. I spent the next week of my internet time doing just that, from cheap brands to holy COW expensive. I found that my face needed a simple apricot scrub followed by Olay Total Effects. Since then, I have found new food items that I really enjoy such as Ocean Spray’s sparkling juice and a myriad of other products I did not like.

If I receive samples for hair products I already know I would use, they go in a drawer in the closet. The kids grab them when they are going on trips for a day or two and I don’t have to worry about replacing the travel sized container, yet again.

The best part is that companies frequently offer coupons with the sample products, so if you find you like the item it gives you an incentive to purchase a full-sized version.

Now that your interest is peaked, how do you do it? Many companies are now on Facebook. Like their page and look to the left under the various categories. Sometimes they have weird titles so go ahead and click on the ones that seem interesting. I received a free pair of tennis shoes from a company on Facebook, you never know what they are going to give away.

Startsampling.com will ask a series of questions to get to know you and allows you to click on offers that suit your life. They are mailed to you from the address stored on their system. A google search will produce dozens of sites dedicated to offering samples.

Most companies have their own websites now. Even Wal mart is working in conjunction with other companies to offer coupons

So the next time you see an offer for a free sample, request it and you might discover your newest favorite thing.

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

