First Aid Kit

Standard

I learned early on when The Boy started walking at 9 months that I needed to keep band aids with me at all times. I added them to the diaper bag along with the Tylenol and Motrin. When I no longer had to carry a diaper bag, I forgot to keep things in my car. One day while at my mom’s we drove to the park down the road and he got a bad cut and I had nothing to deal with it properly. Since then, I have always kept certain items in my vehicle. Over time, my first aid kit for my van has grown to what you see below.

First aid booklets. Even though I have had the course, it never hurts to have backup.

I divide everything into groups and keep them in plastic bags. This not only allows me to quickly grab what I need, but keeps the items clean and prevent paper packages from becoming ripped.

Rubber gloves

Consider purchasing latex and powder free gloves as you never know who will have an allergy or sensitivity to them, including you.

Hand warmers

Even in the summer these can be useful! If someone were to be too cold from being in the water this is a safe and quick way to help warmup their extremities. They can also be placed into shoes to warm the feet.

Wet wipes and antibiotic ointment wipes

Cotton balls and maxi pads. Don’t go for the thin ones, the thicker the better. These are the best thing for larger wounds.

Another use for the maxi pad is as cushioning such as when hiking and the straps for the backpack are hurting your shoulders.

Self sticking wrap, wrist support, knee support and sling.

Q-Tips and the larger ones you see at the doctor’s office.

Gauze in various shapes and sizes along with first aid tape. My scissors are missing will have to replace them. The popsicle sticks are a great splint.

Mouth guard for CPR, sanitizer, antibiotic ointment, kleenex and a marker. If you get a bite or rash use the marker to draw a circle around it. This allows you to see if the bite grows or the rash is spreading. It cannot be a washable marker!!!

Index cards are also useful if you are bit by a spider and are unsure if it is dangerous or not. Tapping it to the card and placing into a baggie allows you to show your doctor later on.

The majority of the time you only need a small band-aid and I keep those in the small box, along with ointment and a single pair of gloves. Most medications should not be exposed to extreme heat and should not be kept in the car for the long-term. But if you are taking a long trip, throw in those items that you might most commonly need such as something for the stomach or a headache. I keep sunscreen and bug spray in my car from May through August.

I keep it all in a zippered bag but a backpack with compartments also works well as does a fishing tackle box.

You should go through your kit periodically to remove expired medications and ensure things are not missing. I noticed I could not find my tweezers for removing splinters and had no water bottle so I will take care of that this week.

I mentioned earlier that I kept Motrin and Tylenol in my bag when The Boy was young. He would have febrile seizures so at the first sign of a temperature I was to start rotating those into his system. Accordingly, put in the items that apply to your family such as a thermometer, measuring spoon or an extra inhaler.

I hope taking a peek into my bag helps you!

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Outdoor Skills « keepingiteasyandsimple

  2. Pingback: First Aid Checklist « keepingiteasyandsimple

Leave a Reply

