Traveling Files

Standard

At Girl Scout meetings I found that it was becoming difficult to remember which girl took home paperwork, who left theirs behind on the table, which girls were present at a given meeting and to bring forms for new girls. My solution was to create a hanging file system that I could easily carry to every meeting.

I have about 8 hanging file, one for each level and category. In the back I keep extra folders.

Hanging files and folders for each level and category.

The file in front has a folder for all paperwork I need to send off to Council and a folder for my co-leader.

First File

I have a hanging file for every level. If you only do a 1 level Troop then you can divide folders by patrols. There is 1 folder where I keep forms girls fill out when they earn a badge at home.

Level Files

Information that girls need for Troop positions are kept in a separate file. This includes thank you cards, stamps, notebook, treasurer’s report and activity forms.

Troop Positions File

In the back are the folders for me. I have all the paperwork i need for new girls and parents. I always keep catalogs, even outdated ones. If nothing else they give parents a good idea of the uniform items I describe in the Troop handbook. I also have a folder to hold papers we use at meetings, or extra copies I have made of something. I go through this folder every few months and get rid of outdated items.

Other Folders

In the very front of the box I keep a notebook. When girls arrive they sign in on a new page. I used to use individual sheets every month but this is much simpler. After a meeting I can quickly job down what was accomplished and can reference it if there are any questions about who has earned a badge or missed an announcement. I have “sign here” stickers i place on papers that go home and need to be returned. There are fliers about Girl Scouts I can hand out. The protective sleeve holds sheets for every level that describe all the awards girls can currently earn at a given level. This is a great tool to show parents as well as the girls.

I sort all papers before meeting day and put them into each girl’s file. This way I do not have to remember who has what. Each girl or parent is responsible for checking their own file when they arrive or leave. Girls bring 3 ring binders they can put the papers in to take home. To make that easier I prepunch all papers for them.

The file is on a small table by the door. On the same table is the notebook the girls sing in on, as well as sign up sheets for future events/field trips and our dues can.

Please let me know if you have any questions!!

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Girl Scout Binder « keepingiteasyandsimple

  2. Pingback: Outdoor Skills « keepingiteasyandsimple

Leave a Reply

