Outdoor Skills

Standard

Below are the outdoor skills that the girls work on over the years. When we choose an outdoor activity we work on the skills specifically needed in order to do that activity safely and still have fun. We also tie the skills into badges.

The girls each receive a copy of the list and keep it in their binders. As we cover a topic the girls write the date next to that skill. Once the sheet has been covered they turn it into me and I keep track of who has completed it. In turn, the girls receive a rocker (patch) for the back of their uniform. As new girls came into the Troop I found it hard to keep up with he knew what. I don’t want to cover the same topic repeatedly, at the same time I want to make sure we are all properly prepared. There are some checklists that are VERY short and we are able to cover in a single meeting. I don’t hand those out to the girls, I just make a note of which girls are done. If your girls don’t have their own binders, they can keep them inside their hanging file.

Some of the skills are for older girls. In those cases I have the younger girls cross that line off of their checklist. In my records I write the date a skill has been completed so I know if a particular girl has moved up to the harder skills.

ANIMAL TRACK IDENTIFICATION

bandanna uses – The various ways to use a bandanna

CAMPFIRE COOKING

CLOTHING

COOL WEATHER CAMPING

EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS

FIRST AID

FIRE BUILDING

KNIFE SKILLS

KNOTS

LASHING

LEAVE NO TRACE

ORIENTEERING

PERSONAL CAMPING GEAR

PLANT IDENTIFICATION

SHELTERS

TRAIL SIGNS

WEATHER

10 ESSENTIALS

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Girl Scout Binder « keepingiteasyandsimple

  2. Pingback: Troop Handbook « keepingiteasyandsimple

Leave a Reply

