Watch for those Coupons

Standard

I am often asked “Where do you get all your coupons?” Of course, I find them in a variety of places. One that can easily be overlooked is in the packaging of an item you have already purchased. Companies will place coupons there because they know you are already a current customer and they want to reward for and encourage you to purchase more. It is far cheaper to keep an existing customer then to find new ones. An additional bonus is that these coupons will last for much longer than the ones you clip from your local newspaper. Frequently companies will say something on the outside of the package about their being a coupon inside, but not always. Be careful when opening boxes and pouring out contents, you just might miss a really good deal.

Last week I was at Safeway and saw there were packages of Jello Pudding cups on clearance. I don’t typically buy them so Boo was quite excited to see them going into the cart. Each package was regularly $3.49 and was marked down 50%, making them $1.75 each. Take off the .60 coupon and I paid $1.25 each for a total of $3.75 out of pocket.

When I opened the package at home inside was another coupon for .75 off, good until the end of the year.

In addition, at the register I received a coupon for $2 off my next shopping trip, good on almost anything.

You will find some companies do this more than others, but the idea is to always be careful when ripping open a package and to do a quick check before throwing it in the recycle bin. What coupons have you recently found in your packaging?

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

