Breakfast Sandwiches

Standard

I have fed many, many, many, many (sigh)…many people breakfast. Truth be told, I might have even fed you. I worked for several years at a major fast food chain and as the opening manager, I got to cook breakfast, a lot. I can crack 2 eggs at a time and rarely have any shells fall in. I am not as fast as I once was, but I still remember the tricks.

When The Man and I first married, he wanted breakfast but not first thing in the morning. I made him sandwiches he could grab and heat up when he arrived at work. I stopped making them for years, but when The Boy started high school, I found them quite convenient once again. He could grab one from the freezer, heat it in the microwave for a few seconds and eat on the way to an early run or a school trip. As he has graduated and in the army (sniff) they have slipped from my weekly schedule. Now that I have another entering high school, they have made their way back into my freezer.

INGREDIENTS:
English Muffins or Biscuits
Slice of cheese
1 egg
1 slice of Bacon or Ham or Sausage Patty
melted Butter or Oil

TOOLS:
Empty tuna fish can with only the lid removed
Small skillet with lid

This is really a process so you can tailor your sandwich to your personal preference or what you happen to have on hand. If you make biscuits for dinner, make a double batch. Sometimes I like to make them savory as it adds a little more flavor to the sandwiches. Such as 1 1/2 Tb of dried Parsley or 2 tsp of dried Sage when using sausage patties. Or maybe I will add some shredded cheddar cheese to the biscuit dough. Make them as simple or complex as you like. A package of English muffins makes it go even faster.

This time I oven fried some bacon while the biscuits were cooking. If I have thin slices of ham or canadian bacon, I don’t reheat them unless we are going to eat the sandwiches now. Ham will heat up in a matter of seconds in a hot pan. For sausage I purchase the tubes and make slices so they come out nice and round for me.

To cook the eggs, place the pan on medium high heat and pour in enough water to go halfway up the tuna fish can. The cans will be placed in the water bath.

Using a pastry brush or your fingers, rub the bottom and sides of the tuna can. When making scrambled eggs, whip them well and then pour into the can. Allowing the eggs to come to room temperature fist allows them to whip up better. If you prefer a “fried” style, crack the egg into the can and gently break the yolk. This is an important step you your end result will not be what you want.

Once the eggs are in the pans, season with a tiny bit of salt and pepper if desired. You can also add 1 Tbs of shredded cheese to the scrambled eggs. Cover the pan and set the timer for 2 minutes. You NEED a timer as overcooking will create dry, rubbery eggs. Nor do you want to release steam by removing the lid to check on them. I promise, as long as the water is at a simmer they will be done in exactly 2 minutes. In the photos I only did 2 cans, but you can do as many as will fit in the bottom of frying pan or pot.

I use a slotted spoon to remove the cans over a pair of tongs, I think I have more control over the molds. Run a knife around the edges, similar to removing a cake from its pan. Once flipped upside down, the eggs should slide right out. If they don’t, sliding a spoon under the egg will pop it out without breaking.

Layer the egg, meat and cheese onto your biscuit and serve.

To freeze, I wrap each sandwich in wax paper and place into a freezer bag. I don’t like to keep them longer than 2 weeks, but that has really not been a major issue in my house. I made a dozen for around $6.

If frozen, heat in the microwave on medium for about 1 minute. Each microwave is different so try 1 and check to see if it is thawed all the way through and adjust accordingly. I have found that adding cheese after reheating is better than freezing it on the sandwich.

I hope you are inspired to give it a try, let me know how it goes!

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

