PICTURE BOOKS FOR DAISY PETALS

Standard

When I first had a Daisy group, I brought books from home that explained the concept of each Petal. Most of the books i had purchased through Scholastic for my own kids over the years and should be easy to find. A couple are Newberry Award winners. Even today, I think the girls enjoy these picture books more than the stories written for the Petals and Journeys.

HONEST & FAIR – Lupe

Jamaica’s Find
The Truth – Berenstain Bears

FRIENDLY & HELPFUL – Sunny

Bear’s Bargain
Froggy’s Sleepover
Lend a Helping Hand – Berenstain Bears
I’m Helping – Little Critter

CONSIDERATE & CARING – Zinni

Clifford’s Good Deeds
Caring Contest – Care Bears

COURAGEOUS & STRONG – Tula

The Biggest Snowman
Corduroy Lost & Found
The Crocodile and the Dentist
Don’t Eat the Teacher
Froggy Learns to Swim
Stella Rae, the Brave

RESPONSIBLE FOR WHAT I SAY AND DO – Mari

The Blame Game – Berenstain Bears
Horton Hatches an Egg

Horton Hears a Whoo

RESPECT MYSELF & OTHERS – Gloria

Bad Case of Stripes
Bear Shadow
Growing Vegetable Soup

RESPECT AUTHORITY – Gerri

Clifford the Firehouse Dog
Firefighters by Norma Simon
I was SO Mad – Little Critter

USE RESOURCES WISELY – Clover

Don’t Pollute – Berenstain Bears

MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE – Rosie

Clifford’s Riddles
Chimps Don’t wear Glasses
The Lorax

Okay, I know you are wondering about those first 2 books. But i think by making someone else smile, you ARE making the world a better place.

BE A SISTER TO EVERY GIRL SCOUT
– Vi

Star of the Sea – Rainbow Fish

Most Petals have stories that are for different attention levels so you can decide which ones your girls can sit through. It would not be odd for me to sum up a page rather than reading all the words to the younger girls. What I especially enjoy about using these classic books is that I can come up with so many crafts that tie in quite easily and cheaply. So that I can find the books quickly, I have them all in my milk crate for Daisy level.

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Getting activities organized – Milk Crates « keepingiteasyandsimple

Leave a Reply

