Tostadas with Slaw

Standard

Mexican food is just so good, but often with all the toppings it can become quite high in calories and cost. Now I have always been careful with the grocery budget but 6 months of The Man being unemployed was making it really REALLY hard. Thank goodness for the well stocked freezer and pantry and the new job. Many meals can be made cheaply if you take advantage of sales and get a little creative. Instead of using the typical iceberg lettuce which has almost no nutritional value, I made a Mexican slaw that added zing and nutrition.

INGREDIENTS:
Corn Tortillas
Cooking Oil
Refried Beans
Rice
Shredded Cheese
3 c Cabbage
1/2 c Carrots
3 Tb Apple Cider Vinegar
Dash Frank’s Hot Sauce
Salt
Pepper
1 Tomato

Total cost was $4.54 for 5 people

I made my beans from scratch in the slow cooker so they were ready by the time I was home from work. You can certainly used canned but making them yourself is very easy and much cheaper. I put the rice into the rice cooker and set it for 1 hour.

Shred the cabbage to the desired size. For a slaw I prefer mine really small. For every cup of cabbage I added 1/4 of shredded carrot. Once your vegetables are mixed to together add the apple cider vinegar and season to taste with the salt, pepper and hot sauce. I personally would add more but my family whines when I make it too spicy so a dash is about all it takes. Just enough to add the flavor and a little heat. Set to the side and begin cooking the tortillas.

Mexican Slaw

In a small skillet, heat the cooking oil on medium-high heat. You want enough o have 1/4 inch to fry the tortillas in. Turn the oven onto warm with a pan or plate to place the tortillas on. Once the oil is hot (you can tell as it gets very shiny) place the tortillas in until lightly brown and flip. It takes about minute to finish a tortilla so don’t leave the stove while doing this. Turn the oven to warm and keep the fried tortillas warm on a pan till ready to serve.

TO make a tostada, smear on the beans, sprinkle on some rice and cheese and top with the slaw. The A few pieces of tomato to top it all off.

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

