Not so Hot Chili

Standard

Sometimes I wonder what happened to my children. how could I have given birth to people who don’t like a hot chili? I have learned to adapt, otherwise the leftovers were more than I could eat. The following recipe has a smokey flavor but not hot. Chili is such an easy dish and really nice for this time of year. You can eat it with cornbread or even with polenta at the bottom of the bowl. Leftovers are great on chili dogs or a potato buffet.

INGREDIENTS:
2 c Dried Kidney Beans
3 c Cooked Ground Beef
2 c Tomato Sauce
2 cans Diced Tomatoes
2 c Water
1 c Chopped Onion
2 tsp Garlic
2 tsp Oregano
2 tsp Cumin
1 1/2 tsp Perfect Pinch Roasted Garlic and Bell Pepper spice
1/2 tsp Salt

Sort through the dried beans to look for pebbles. I have found a stone more than once so it is a very important step every time you use dried beans.

I think there is no reason to take advantage of flavors that have already been built up in your diced tomatoes. The 2 that I like to use are fire roasted tomatoes or a garlic and oregano variety.

P1180813

This is what to look for in the spice aisle. If you cannot find it you may use 1/2 of a bell pepper finely diced.

P1180815

Place all ingredients except the salt in the slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours.

P1180820

Adding salt now could prevent the beans from becoming sauce. Place the temperature on high and cook for 8 hours.

P1180825

Add the salt about 30 minutes before you serve with cheese or sour cream.

P1180821

Happy cooking!

About keepingiteasyandsimple

I have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. My oldest is 20 and currently in the National Guard. My daughters are 15 and 11 and involved in everything. I believe life is difficult enough, that we can find ways to make the everyday just a little easier and perhaps even more simple. I love to cook, shop and make things with the kids.

Leave a Reply

